South Carolina's Flagship University

Annual Awards Day


| |

The USC School of Law Student/Faculty Award Day Luncheon was held on Tuesday, April 4, recognizing achievements of students and faculty. SC Supreme Court Chief Justice Jean Toal and WIS newscaster Dave Stanton were on hand to present awards and to emcee.

2006 Recipients

Name of Award


Recipient Name

G. G. Dowling Faculty Award

Presented to faculty member who typifies to fellow faculty members outstanding qualities of integrity, concern for others and legal scholarship

Robert Felix

Outstanding Faculty Service Award

Presented to faculty member who gives unselfishly of his or her time to serve on university and law school committees and to serve their community

Brant Hellwig

Outstanding Faculty Publication Award

Presented to a faculty member who has written an outstanding piece of scholarship

Book: David G. Owen
Kim Diana Connolly (Honorable Mention)
Greg Adams, Jim Burkhard, Brant Hellwig (Honorable Mention)
Article: Brant Hellwig

Outstanding Faculty Member Award

Presented to outstanding teacher

Nathan Crystal

Cy Young

3L with highest GPA

Lee Williams

Coleman Karesh Award

2L with highest GPA

Breana Burkett

Richard J. Foster

1L with highest GPA

Ashley Hedgecock
Amy Palesch

Arthur B. Custy Tax Award

Best student in tax

Sherra Harrison

Irving Steinberg Award

Best student in Worker's Compensation

Suzanne Jebaily


Awarded to student who wrote best comment

Erin Richardson


Awarded to student who wrote best note

Jennifer Walker

Robert T. Bockman Award

Presented to a student who has advanced the goals of the Moot Court Bar and who exemplifies the attributes of a skilled appellate advocate

Jonathan Dunlap

Victor Michelwitz Award

Presented to student who writes best Law Review competition paper

Elizabeth Halligan

Roberts Outstanding Senior Research Paper Award

Presented to student who presents best research paper

Two 2L papers submitted; must be 3L; no award given in 2006

Sherod H. Eadon Scholarship Award

Awarded to student who exhibits an interest and ability in trial advocacy

Natalie Armstrong

Luther Lee Scholarship

Awarded to third year student with a primary interest in trial practice

Deon O'Neil
Doug Webb

Knox Haynsworth Scholarship

Awarded to rising third year student with a demonstrated interest in Labor Law

Wendy Furhang

Claude Sapp Award

Presented to a member of graduating class chosen by his or her classmates as possessing the best combination of scholarship, leadership, and industry

Robert Goings

G. G. Dowling Student Award

Presented to student who exemplifies outstanding qualities of integrity, concern for others and demonstrated legal scholarship achievement

Mitchell Spearman

Albert C. Todd, III Estate Planning Award

Presented to third year student in honor of Al Todd and who exhibits an interest and ability in estate planning and who possesses personal qualities such as academic aptitude, integrity, industry, leadership, and interpersonal skills

Zach Gladney

John Holland Scholarship

Awarded to rising 3rd year student who demonstrates a commitment to leadership and extracurricular activities

Priya Sarathy

Karen Lee Scholarship

Presented to rising 3rd year student who best combines dedication to academic pursuits with a genuine concern for the welfare of fellow classmates

Jane Merrill

Capers Bouton Memorial Scholarship

Awarded to 2nd or 3rd year student who is married and their principle residence is in Greenville County

John Harvey

Joseph O. Rogers, Jr. Scholarship

Presented to rising 3rd year student who exemplifies the highest ideals of the legal profession as evidenced by adherence to strict ethical standards; diligent preparation; decent, civil and courteous conduct, and fidelity and loyalty to fellow students

Ralph Smiley

Anthony Raymond Scholarship

Awarded to a worthy student who best exemplifies the qualities of Anthony Raymond including his courage, determination and strong dedicated advocacy of the rights of disabled students

No applications received; no award for 2006

Susan McCrary Scholarship

Given in memory of Susan McCrary, a member of the Class of 2000, who was killed in an automobile accident during her second year of law school. This award is presented to a rising 3L who have actively participated in student volunteer organizations while in law school such as the Pro Bono program, the James L. Petigru Public Interest Law Society.

Brook Andrews

Susan McCrary Volunteer of the Year Award

Presented to member of Women in Law for dedicated service to the organization and its activities

Casey Callahan

Clinical Program Professionalism Award

Presented by NMR&S Center on Professionalism to student who demonstrates the highest commitment to the standards of professionalism of the S.C. Bar through representation of clients in a law school clinical course

Chris Woodyard

Outstanding Clinical Student Award

Presented by the Clinical Legal Educators Association to student for excellence in thefield work component of a clinical course determined by the quality of the student's performance in assisting or representing individual clients or inundertaking group advocacy or policy reform projects

Megan Erlich
Jennifer Bender

Stanley H. Kohn Memorial Scholarship

Presented to rising 2nd or 3rd year student who is a member of the Charles Cotesworth Pinckney Chapter of Phi Alpha Delta Law Fraternity who demonstrates scholastic achievement, high moral character, and financial need

Sarah Bayko

SBA Service Award

Presented to individual who demonstrates outstanding leadership and service to the law school through student bar activities

Priya Sarathy

Pro Bono Service Awards

Brook Andrews
Mendi Drayton
Terra Futch
Kathleen McDaniel
Deon O'Neil
Adrian Polit
Carrie Raines
Jim Sullivan
Nancy Todd
Mandy Wilkerson

Hugh L. Willcox Pro Bono Volunteer of the Year Award

Presented to student who not only demonstrates a dedication to public service and volunteerism but manages to balance their volunteer activities with a commitment to the law school and their legal education

Katherine Graham
Chris Woodyard