Compleat Lawyer Awards

2011 Highlights

2011 Recipients

Past Winners

Nine outstanding alumni were recognized for their significant contributions to the legal profession and high standards of professional competence, ethics and integrity at the University of South Carolina School of Law's annual Compleat Lawyer Awards dinner on April 14, 2011. Established in 1992 by the USC Law School Alumni Association Board (LSAAB), the awards recognize alumni for outstanding civic and professional accomplishments.

Awards are given in categories based on years in practice.This year's platinum (30 or more years in profession) winners — Harry R. Easterling, Sr., Class of 1958; Joseph F. Rice, Class of 1979; and Thomas W. Traxler, Class of 1979. Gold (15–29 years in profession) winners — Mary Agnes "Molly" Hood Craig, Class of 1994; Peter L. Hearn, Sr., Class of 1994; and Elizabeth Scott Moise, Class of 1989. Silver (14 years or less in profession) winners — Christopher R. Koon, Class of 2002; James L. Ward, Jr., Class of 1997; and Thad H. Westbrook, Class of 1999.

Recipients are nominated by members of the South Carolina Bar and are chosen by a committee consisting of the Chief Justice of the South Carolina Supreme Court, the Chief Judge of the South Carolina Court of Appeals, the President of the South Carolina Bar, the President of the Alumni Association, and the Dean of the Law School.

The LSAAB commends the high standards of these individuals whose conduct, competence and conscience reflect positively upon themselves, the legal profession, and the University of South Carolina School of Law. Walter F. Pratt, Jr., Dean of the School of Law, stated that, "Their example is worthy of emulation, and it is a privilege to honor them not only at this annual event, but year round."

View the photo gallery online.